Teen Cell Phone Laws
Wisconsin is the latest state to enforce a cell phone ban for teen drivers. As of Nov. 1, 2012, all novice drivers (with fewer than three years of driving experience and/or under the age of 21) in Wisconsin are now prohibited from using their cell phones while driving. The ban applies to all uses of cell phones, regardless of whether a hands-free accessory is used. Fines range from $20-$100. Unlike many other states, however, Wisconsin has not yet banned cell phone use by all drivers.
In the state of North Carolina, texting while driving is prohibited for all drivers. Drivers under the age of 18 with provisional licenses, and school bus operators, are prohibited from using cell phones in any manner while driving.
Currently, 10 states prohibit all drivers from using handheld cell phones while driving, but allow hands-free devices. No state bans all cell phone use for all drivers, however, but 32 states and Washington D.C. currently ban all cell phone use by novice drivers, while 39 states along with D.C. ban text messaging for all drivers. For more information on specific state laws, visit the Governors Highway Safety Association.Free Initial Consultation