Wrongful Death Attorneys in Concord
We’re All Traveling the Same Road – Let’s Move Forward Together
When someone dies as the result of a wrongful act, like negligence or an unlawful mistake, it is deemed a wrongful death case, and the responsible party can be held liable for the resulting damage. A surviving spouse, child, parent or another close family member might file a wrongful death claim after a dangerous drug-related fatality, a car accident, a slip and fall accident, or some other deadly incident. Dealing with the aftermath of such a situation is never easy, which is why our team at Crumley Roberts is prepared to come alongside you and provide you with the legal help and support you need during this trying time.
Losing someone you love is heartbreaking, regardless of the circumstances. But, if your loved one was taken from you because of someone else’s mistake, you have a right to take action to seek justice, compensation, and to prevent further harm from befalling anyone else. If you think you have a case, our Concord wrongful death attorneys want to hear from you.
Why Choose Our Firm?
At Crumley Roberts, we are passionate about doing right by our clients, and we always seek to protect their best interests in every decision we make. If you choose to work with us, you can expect honest one-on-one legal counsel through every step of your wrongful death case, however complicated or difficult it may seem. Our firm has more than 30 years of experience working with families of the wrongfully injured, and we know what to do with cases like these. We’ve obtained more than $500 million in settlements and verdicts on behalf of our clients, and, more importantly, we have more than 5,000 five-star reviews from past clients.
Ready to get started? Call (866) 691-0607. Our Concord wrongful death lawyers are available 24/7 to take your call.
Wrongful Death Laws in North Carolina
If you believe you have a wrongful death case in Concord, North Carolina, you need a basic understanding of the local wrongful death laws and how they could be applicable to your case. According to North Carolina Statutes section 28A-18-2, the person responsible for the deceased person’s estate is the only person entitled to filing a wrongful death claim. Typically, if the deceased had an estate plan or will, they would have designated a personal representative of their estate. The personal representative can then bring the claim forward on behalf of the deceased, much like a personal injury case. However, if there was no representative appointed, the court may appoint someone. In most cases, the court will appoint the deceased person’s spouse, parent, adult children, or sibling.
How Long Do I Have To File a Wrongful Death Claim?
The state laws also impose a statute of limitations on wrongful death claims, which states that all claims must be brought forth within two years of the person’s death. In some cases, the court may allow an extension, (if, for example, the family was not aware any wrongdoing had taken place until later), but in most cases, the claim must be filed within the first two years.
Beginning a wrongful death claim is not as straightforward as it might seem. Filing a claim incorrectly can jeopardize your case and undercut your damages, which is why it's always best to discuss the particulars of your situation with an attorney as soon as possible.
At Crumley Roberts, We Stand Up For You
Since opening our doors in 1989, our attorneys have been committed to doing our best for our community, our clients, and their families. If you find yourself coping with the loss of a loved one due to someone else’s mistake or carelessness, we want to help you take the next step towards justice, compensation, and peace. We have decades of experience, and we’re ready to help.